Recommended Aussie Tunes:Psycroptic | The new single "A Fragile Existence" | Listen

Album Reviews : Five Finger Death Punch – And Justice For None

By on June 13, 2018

It’s strange to think Five Finger Death Punch’s debut album The Way of The Fist came out only just over 10 years ago.  I remember first seeing them at a small club show, just after their second album ‘War Is The Answer’ came out. Safe to say FFDP have come along way since then

The rise they have had in those years is nothing short of remarkable. In an era when not many bands sell records anymore. Their last album Got Your Six released in 2015 sold 119,000 copies in the US during its first week of release, which is incredible for a metal band in this digital era.

Things haven’t exactly been quiet in the Five Finger Death Punch camp over the last couple of years, Ivan Moody’s well-documented struggles with sobriety rumours where he had quit the band and a drawn-out lawsuit with label Prospect Park threatened to derail this album. But as resilient as ever the FFDP steam train rolls on.

And Justice For None… as the title suggests reflects the mood of the band particularly after what happened with the lawsuit. Launching in on the deluxe version with ‘Trouble’  the single which was released late last year, its clear 2018 signals a new era of FFDP.  ‘There are no excuses, this is who I choose to be, There are no regrets, I don’t care if you believe,’ is a clear middle finger to the past. Moody is one of the most talented vocalists in metal today and his mixture of rough aggressiveness along with soothing melodies is on full display in ‘Trouble’. Jason Hook’s solo in the middle of the track is impeccable and the whole track sets the classic Death Punch groove into action. ‘Fake’  see’s Moody in a full-blown range against perhaps his own and Death Punch’s detractors. Its a short punchy track and of the heaviest on the album, ‘Top Of The World’ follows suit but doesn’t capture the imagination like the first two opening tracks, but is still a solid track none the less. Zoltan and Jason are both are at the top of their game.

Sham Pain see’s a shift in focus with Death Punch shifting to a more mid-tempo rhythm. and showcasing a tongue in cheek look at Ivan’s detractors over the past couple of years. As with a lot of Death Punch songs, the chorus will stick in your head for hours after you first hear it. Next up is the cover of Kenny Wayne Shepherds country classic ‘Blue on Black’, this track is a grower. When I first heard it, to be honest, I just thought it was cheesy, and didn’t actually realise it was a cover so went and listened to the original. my original thoughts are still the same, but Ivan’s vocals do fit well with the track, not my personal favourite though. ‘Fire in the Hole’ keeps the album moving, and flows well, before Death Punch head into ballad territory.  If ‘I Refuse’ and ‘When The Seasons Change, is played live, it will be time to get the lighters in the air. Death Punch knows how to make a good ballad, and both songs would be a fine addition to its live setlist. I’ll also mention that as a band they have done some great work at raising awareness for the well-being of veterans through various means. Top work lads!

This is where the album seems to peak through, and the haunting cover of The Offspring’s ‘Gone Away’, provides the real final highlight of the album, the two final tracks ‘Bloody’ and ‘Will The Sun Ever Rise’, don’t particularly add anything new to the album and pass without being totally memorable.

Love them or hate them, there is no denying how much massive FFDP are. They know their formula, they know it works and they still bring an outstanding live show to the table. Personally, their first two albums will probably always be my favourite Death Punch records. But ‘And Justice For None’ provides a solid album, with some real high points on it. The Death Punch train keeps rolling!

Band: Five Finger Death Punch
Album: And Justice For None
Year: 2018
Genre: Nu Metal
Label: Prospect Park
Origin: United States of America