Recommended Aussie Band:ADRIFT FOR DAYS | Sydney doom | Listen

News : Trigger reveal their full-length debut album, ‘Cryogenesis’

By on June 9, 2017

The much anticipated and long-awaited debut album from Melbourne metal five-piece Trigger is almost here, and the band have now revealed everything we can expect and look forward with their brand new album, Cryogenesis!

Cryogenesis sees a stark growth in the band’s sound and direction, compared to their previous EP release, Machina (2014) – see HERE for Metal Obsession’s review of Machina. This album marks the band’s second studio effort since Machina. Recorded by Chris Themelco at Monolith Studios, the album was mastered by Thomas ‘Plec’ Johanssen at Panic Room Studios.

Cryogenesis will be released worldwide on July 18th 2017 through Hellfire Records Australia. The album itself is described as a sci-fi influenced concept album, spanning 10 tracks at 53 minutes in length.

As stated by Trigger guitarist, Luke Ashley:

“Cryogenesis is a science-fiction narrative that addresses the struggle of gods and man. These historical demigods are all too real and not of this world; constantly vying for cultural control and dominion over humanity. “Upon the Forge of Hephaestus”, “Tethered to the Tide” and “Veins of Ambrosia” are excerpts of alien forces exercising their will, whilst “Dead Sun” and “Dysphoria” focus on the human psyche. We have created a world akin to our own, referencing important points in human history with a grimmer mythological impact.

Sonically, our vision for the album was to bridge the gap between European and American influences, as well as the classic and modern aesthetics of metal. We wanted this to be a dynamic release that highlights the variety of the metal subcultures and throws them into a melting pot. It’s fast but spacious, heavy but contoured, all tied together with melodic strains. We’ve honed a unique identity for this release – we hope people have as much fun listening to Cryogenesis as we did writing it.”

Trigger has now released their first single to be taken from Cryogenesis, and of which opens the album: “Upon the Forge of Hephaestus”.

“Upon the Forge of Hephaestus” sees a significant shift in the overall direction and style of Trigger’s approach to metal. Pushing their own boundaries further than they had gone previously, Tim Leopold‘s vocals here seem stronger than they ever have before, developing both his clean and harsh range. Furthermore are the guitars and drums crisper and the sound overall sharper and matured. We here at Metal Obsession personally can’t wait to see what the rest of the album holds!

1. Upon the Forge of Hephaestus [4:22]
2. Dead Sun [5:17]
3. Echoes of the Silenced [5:58]
4. Crowned [3:47]
5. Tethered to the Tide [6:11]
6. The Divide [5:20]
7. Alexandria [4:02]
8. DeluZion [4:08]
9. Dysphoria [6:33]
10. Veins of Ambrosia [6:24]

Cryogenesis is available for pre-order now on the following sites:


Jonathon is an aspiring fantasy/sci-fi novelist and music journalist. Thanks to the influence of the music he grew up with, he has always possessed a keen interest in metal and rock. He is also a huge fan of mythology, legend, and folklore from all across the world. You should follow him on Twitter.