Recommended Aussie Tunes:Psycroptic | The new single "A Fragile Existence" | Listen

Album Reviews : Chaos Divine – Colliding Skies

By on March 29, 2015

10922569_10152773492768122_3255841271645745415_nIt’s a very rare occurrence that I stumble across a hidden gem of an album in the context of rock. In a world saturated by copy and paste post-grunge bands, it’s always a joy to find a band that ignores current trends in lieu of a more melodic and progressive approach. The last one I managed to unearth from the pile was Mad at Gravity’s 2002 effort, Resonance. Sadly, upon discovering them, they were already disbanded, much the same as many other rock bands who take this road. One of the few gems keeping my dreams alive for a better future for rock is Chaos Divine, who’ve created a treasure of an album in Colliding Skies.

Following the path of other Perth progressive rock artists like Karnivool, Chaos Divine have their own unique sound which, although influenced by past rock bands, is still original enough to separate them from a swathe of other bands in the genre.

The guitar here is solid for a rock album. There are clean arpeggiated passages that never get too boring, almost shoegazing chorus riffs and leads, and enough kick to satisfy those more inclined towards metal than rock. The guitar tone may not be to everyone’s taste, as it carries a lighter, more alternative rock fuzz, but it’s not enough to mar the overall quality of the riffs being presented here.

The vocals are, to me, what Mikael Åkerfeldt would sound like if he was an Aussie and wasn’t trying too hard to be all aloof and hipster in his new progressive trendiness. They soar, softly whisper, and somberly mourn through the musical landscapes of the songs. The vocals are probably the highlight for me, even though the rest of the album is still incredibly well put together. They just add so much to the songs that a less talented singer would’ve spoiled and soured.

Drum-wise, there isn’t a complaint to be found. They compliment the other composites with their own character, and were thoughtfully and passionately crafted by someone who’s obviously having a grand time while doing it.

Highlights of the album would include emotive songs like “Badge of Honour” and “The Shepherd,” the catchy main riff from “Soldiers,” and the upbeat and cathartic “Before the Dawn.”

Growing up in Perth myself, it’s albums like this that make me glad that even though the western front is often forgotten, it can never be said that there isn’t a wealth of talent here. Chaos Divine’s Colliding Skies is an album I hope rock enthusiasts won’t soon forget.

Band: Chaos Divine
Album: Colliding Skies
Year: 2015
Genre: Progressive rock
Label: Firestarter Music
 Perth, Australia

Track list:
1. Landmines
2. Badge of Honour
3. Painted With Grey
4. Soldiers
5. Symbiotic
6. Tides
7. Before the Dawn
8. The Shepherd
9. Mara
10. With Nothing We Depart


Benjen is a qualified teacher residing in the south-east suburbs of Perth. Benjen was introduced to hard rock at the age of 12 with Papa Roach's "Love-Hate Tragedy," and has developed a love for hard rock and metal since. He also has a keen interest in gaming and almost every fandom imaginable, from Doctor Who to Deadpool. He can be followed on Twitter @thetoadmode