Recommended Aussie Tunes:Psycroptic | The new single "A Fragile Existence" | Listen

Album Reviews : Aversions Crown – Tyrant

By on November 12, 2014

The death bringers from Brisbane in Aversions Crown are back for another round of brutal destruction. They follow up their 2011 debut album Servitude with Tyrant.

It is clear from the very beginning that Aversions Crown aren’t screwing around with this record. Flawless production and exquisite musicianship (three guitars which are utilized perfectly is something to behold for you all metal lovers out there). Drummer Jayden Mason’s drum work is ridiculously lightning quick and solid.

Hollow Planet is a sizzling, aggressive and pounding opening piece that lays the groundwork for the rest of the record. This is brilliantly evil. The album’s lyrical theme is set on extra-terrestrial hostiles and nightmares from outer space. The Glass Sentient is up next, another punch right in the face. And that’s the way it goes all the way till the end of Faith Collapsing. 39 minutes of utterly glorious destruction, despair and annihilation. Aversions Crown might not bring ground-breaking metal to the table, but what they bring, they do really well.

Musically the lyrical theme is very nicely transferred into atmospheric ambience. The vocals works well for the most part, but sometimes the growls are a bit monotone and it takes away a bit of the experience that the music builds up. It’s not a massive issue though.

Recently signed to Nuclear Blast the future indeed looks very promising for the guys in Aversions Crown. They are currently touring Australia and at the beginning of 2015 they are bringing the alien invasion to Europe.

I would advise you to not pay too much attention to the deathcore label that is slapped on this band. They are one of the finer bands in the genre and I am sure that there are some extreme metal fans out there that normally don’t care too much for deathcore that would like this band.

If there’s an alien invasion coming anytime soon, make sure you buy this album before the record stores shut down!

Tyrant is out NOW in Australia and released world-wide on November 24. Check out Hollow Planet and Overseer, they will blow your brains out a tiny bit more than other tracks on the album.

Band: Aversions Crown
Album: Tyrant
Year: 2014
Genre: Death metal
Label: Nuclear Blast
Origin: Brisbane, QLD


  1. Hollow Planet
  2. The Glass Sentient
  3. Conqueror
  4. Vectors
  5. Earth Steriliser
  6. Avalanche
  7. Xenoforms
  8. Overseer
  9. Controller
  10. Faith Collapsing


Martin is an aspiring music photographer/videographer. He is originally from the southern parts of Sweden and now he's living in Sydney, Australia. Thanks to his older sister, he got into Rammstein at the age of 9, and since then he's been into all types of metal/rock. He loves to combine photography and music, but also filming concerts and produce live material. Follow him on Twitter and check out his website.