Recommended Aussie Tunes:Psycroptic | The new single "A Fragile Existence" | Listen

Album Reviews : Suicide Silence – You Can’t Stop Me

By on July 20, 2014

Suicide Silence was never a band that I gave an ear or very much importance to. I had heard a few songs here and there but that was about it. When their vocalist Mitch Lucker sadly passed away in 2012, and these lads despite the hardships announced a brand new album in the works, I couldn’t help but have an immediate respect develop. The deathcore act from Riverside, California have now returned with their fourth album, and what an absolute riot it is!

Intro track ‘M.A.L’, followed by ‘Inherit The Crown’ (such an apt name for their return especially new guy Eddie) are, let’s just say, enough to make you want to bang your head and break something. Eddie Hermida’s vocals are venomous, dripping with ferocity and instantly pierce through your brain with extremely expressive and emotional lyrics alongside the thundering blast beat courtesy of Lopez. The same can be said about ‘Cease To Exist’ which maintains the deliciously heavy stylings, fast tempo, breakdowns and a whole lot of bass. ‘Warrior’ and ‘Sacred Words’continue the mind-numbing effect of their music and exhibit the band’s slight movement in a new direction with their sound. ‘Sacred Words’, one of my favourite tracks begins with a rather melodic drone but builds up into a crushing track, the underlying melody intact along with the persistence of Dan Kenny’s awesome bass chugging. That’s the beauty of this album; the hints of versatility that have been thrown around.

The musical assault continues with ‘Control’ which has Corpsegrinder from Cannibal Corpse doing what he does best and obliterating any sense of reality with his terrifying, guttural growls. Don’t get me wrong, by terrifying I mean, I actually had goosebumps ON MY NECK. There’s some pretty awesome stuff that makes title track ‘You Can’t Stop Me’ stand out as well, apart from the fact that it was the last set of lyrics written by Mitch. ‘Monster Within’ is another beasting track that sees the awesome Greg Puciato of The Dillinger Escape Plan and Killer Be Killed fame, going all apeshit, definitely one of the major highlights. This along with ‘We Have All Had Enough’ are perfect examples of the kind of mind-blowing, eardrum-slaying sort of music this band are capable of. Great song structures with lots of aggressive riffing, heaps of breakdowns and just an overall monstrous feel.

The album ends on an epic note with ‘Ouroboros’ which further shows the bands ability to diversify with their music. A soft intro of atmospheric guitars, and distant vocals, misleads you initially as the track dives into some killer heavy riffs. The switch between soft tones with lots of piano sections and brutal breakdowns with punishing screeches/ growls, Suicide Silence couldn’t have ended this album on a better note. In light of seeing them live earlier this year in Australia, I’ll say this quite simply, if you’re a death metal/deathcore fan, this album has everything you would want to listen to over and over again. Not only have they made a triumphant return as a band, they have also redefined their style and sound without too many changes. It’s heavy, it’s brutal, and sue me for saying this but it WILL silence you! Check it out!

Band : Suicide Silence
Album: You Can’t Stop Me
Year : 2014
Genre : Deathcore
Label: Nuclear Blast
Origin: USA

1. M.A.L.
2. Inherit the Crown
3. Cease to Exist
4. Sacred Words
5. Control
6. Warrior
7. You Can’t Stop Me
8. Monster Within
9. We Have All Had Enough
10. Ending Is the Beginning
11. Don’t Die
12. Ouroboros


Prarthana is a vegan, Indo-Aussie, heavy music addict, fluent in sarcasm and metal. Traveling is an obsession as she enjoys taking in the history of various countries and following her favorite bands. She's either eating, teaching grammar or learning an instrument, when not occupied with windmilling in the faces of other humans.