Recommended Aussie Tunes:Psycroptic | The new single "A Fragile Existence" | Listen

Album Reviews : Malakyte – Human Resonance

By on November 19, 2013

Malakyte have earned themselves quite the reputation for their onstage presence and it is not hard to see why. Their pulsing, heavy, nigh-imposing sound live is bolstered by the sheer aggression and force the members bring to the stage.

However, whilst they are a dominant beast in their performance it has not translated so well to their album, Human Resonance. While the instrumentation and production maintain Malakyte’s sense of impudence and chaos there really just feels like something is missing. A disconnect between Live and Recording is something a band, of any genre or style, just have to face. Some can bridge the gap, others simply don’t; and while I can say that Malakyte don’t fail to bring some energy to their tracks their presence is just not completely felt here.

This is not to say that Human Resonance is a bad album or even a poor attempt at one. Far from it; as mentioned earlier the recording is crisp, clear and defined, the skill and fire that the members bring to their instruments really shines, and there is a solid vigor that pervades each track on this album. From the relentless assault of Warhawk to the powerful, almost dirty groove of Flood of Flames, Malakyte have set out to provide a work that is sure to keep Thrash lovers, well, thrashing. The question is Do They Deliver?

By and large: yes, certainly. There is a lot to like here; I can’t deny that, especially when the sense of fun that Malakyte never fail to bring to the stage makes its way, albeit in all too brief segments, through the recording. Look no further than their track Monolith for proof of that.

However, in part, no: Malakyte don’t quite pass the mark in places. While there is a lot on offer here (A total of 12 tracks, some of which ranging between 5 to 7 minutes) many of these songs carry a ring of having heard it before. Granted, there are exceptions, such as their intro track 7.83, which carries a special charm of discordant unruliness, and Zero Hour which is almost crosses the line into Speed Metal; and a special mention to fellow instrumental interlude track Skeksis, which seems a little telling in the band’s influences as well as their willingness not to take themselves too seriously.

If I had to name what was missing from this album I would put it into two words “Rawness” (Which I am pretty sure isn’t actually a word, but just go with it) and “Energy”. Not to say that there aren’t elements of these things in the tracks, it simply feels, for the most part, restrained. There are moments in Human Resonance where you can feel this raw, energetic beast scrapping away, behind the chords, trying to get out, and it’s a damned shame that just can’t break through, like there is a particular lack of unrefinement. (Again, not a real word; sue me) What do I mean by that? Well Thrash, by and large, carries with it a culture of effrontery and defiance, almost to the extent of it being crude; and while there is a robust impression of the chaos that Thrash is known for there is the overall sensation that something is being held back.

If you are a devout thrasher and mosh-pit enthusiast then this album will be a nice addition to your collection, and while the vocalist’s screechy, borderline annoying, voice isn’t really my cup of tea, Human Resonance is definitely an album I would recommend. As for my personal tastes, there isn’t anything distinct or unique here; Good: certainly, Great: if this is the stuff that gets you fired up but Original: no; but then, there is no accounting for taste.

Since I am not really one for numerical evaluations, I hereby give Human Resonance a sound recommendation.

(Admittedly, I was tempted to go for “7.83 out of 10” or “6 Warhawks out of 10”, but it’s my first day and I don’t want to annoy my editor)

[Editors note: No sign of annoyance]

[Editors note: The video above is not the final mix/master of this song off their album. It’s the only video they have on YouTube though.]

Band: Malakyte
Album: Human Resonance
Year: 2013
Genre: Thrash Metal
Label: Independent
Origin: QLD

Track listing:
1. 7.83
2. Embodiment
3. Inbetween Terminals
4. Zero Hour
5. Warhawk
6. Media Suicide
7. Skeksis
8. Fall to Khaos
9. Flood of Flames
10. Resonance Cascade
11. Monolith


Hailing from parts unknown (actually, it’s Melbourne), Tristan is a freelance writer and lover of metal, with a special place in his heart for Power and Folk metal. After playing in a number of local Melbourne metal bands, and completing his Bachelor of Arts, Tristan focuses his attention to the pursuit of writing, practicing the Liechtenauer School of swordsmanship, dabbling in Cosplay and reciting Babylon 5 quotes; in addition to hunting for a publisher for his novel. Until then, he enjoys metal, writing about metal and convincing people around his office that he is immortal and has lived for 3,000 years. (So far only the chick in HR is buying it)