Recommended Aussie Tunes:Psycroptic | The new single "A Fragile Existence" | Listen

Album Reviews : Rainshadow – Waters Imperium

By on March 4, 2012

Dark rock has never been a personal favourite of mine, however after hearing a few preview tracks from Rainshadow, I was keen to check out this particular album. Rainshadow’s 2011 album Waters Imperium is the third release by the band in a career spanning over 7 years.

I had high hopes for this album and maybe I had already made up my mind that this CD was going to be awesome….or at least pretty cool. However, my experience with Waters Imperium was a little disappointing. For a little contrast, let’s start off with a good note about Waters Imperium.

First off, the packaging and presentation is excellent. I was generally impressed with the packaging of this CD. Secondly….well to be honest there is no second. Like I said before, I really wanted this Waters Imperium to be great. I really wanted it to blow me away, but it just didn’t connect with me like I assumed it would. The production and mix was the main let down for me. It felt muddy, unclear and lackluster in spark. Uncomplimentary to the CDs fantastic packaging I mentioned before. Possibly, if the production and mix were more clear and concise, this album might be on the different spectrum of my opinion.

Material wise, the songs do have promise. More good than shit, for sure. Rainshadow do, on occasion bring the darkness with their sludgy riffs and dark melodies however at times the music can stagnate and the overall feeling can become a little repetitious. However, promise is shown and perhaps in a live setting, this album would sound incredible.

Overall, this album was a little disappointing. I didn’t feel a connection between myself and the music. Perhaps my preconceptions of this album got the best of me. Rainshadow do show signs of promise and talent though. Waters Imperium just isn’t their Magnum Opus.

Artist: Rainshadow
Album: Waters Imperium
Year: 2011
Genre: Dark rock
Origin: Melbourne, Australia
Label: Independent

Track listing:
1. Melancholy Redux
2. Exit Wounds
3. Imperfect Wave
4. Storms
5. Shipwrecked
6. Death in the Afternoon
7. Cold Years
8. The Spider and the Swan
9. Her White Empire
10. Waters Imperium