Recommended Aussie Tunes:Psycroptic | The new single "A Fragile Existence" | Listen

Album Reviews : 4arm – Submission for Liberty

By on October 13, 2011

Since forming in 2004, 4Arm has been a force to be reckoned with in the Australian thrash metal scene. Submission For Liberty is the bands 3rd studio album and is certainly a strong addition to the bands discography.

As I had previously never listened to much 4Arm material, I went into this album expecting to hear a ‘Metallica Tribute Band’. I’m glad to say that 4Arm has not lived up to my expectations. You can, of course, hear the obvious influences of the ‘Big 4’ (as you would with most metal albums) however with Submission for Liberty, 4Arm have definitely created a sound to call their own.

Much to my surprise, the album kicks off with a slow piano ballad however I wasn’t left wondering where the thrash was for too long. A mere minute and a half later, it blasted its way into my ear canals with track #2, ‘While I Lie Awake’. A great song with bone crushing riffs, tight drums, a catchy chorus and a brilliant ending. Definitely one of the highlights on the album.

Moving onto the mid section of the album, we encounter the bulk of the shorter tracks. The album slightly loses its ‘hook’ for a couple of songs here. I felt as though this section lacked the momentum and excellent arrangements that the start of the album had. The vocals might also be an acquired taste for some. At times the lyrical content can be a bit predictable in both melody and phrasing. None the less, there are moments that will grab your attention. Tracks four and seven are standouts; both containing brutal guitar riffs, strong vocals and drums as tight as a witches cleft. I should also comment that the lead guitar work on this album is nothing short of superb. Lead guitarist, Johnny Glovasa, really shreds it up, but keeps it tasteful to the ears.

The tail end of Submission For Liberty is the strongest section of the album. Tracks 9 & 10 are really something to behold. Track #9, ‘The Warning’, has some real soaring vocals that really show the brutal timbre of vocalist, Danny Tomb. Track#10, ‘Blood of Martyrs’, is one of the slower tracks on the album and is quite different in terms of what the rest of the album sounds like, however contains probably the best (and heaviest) ending riff I’ve heard in a while. Definitely one of the best songs on the album.

I was quite impressed with Submission for Liberty. It feels fresh and not just some recycled thrash album from the 80’s. 4Arm have without a doubt, asserted themselves as major contenders in the Australian thrash metal scene with this album and I wouldn’t be surprised if international success came upon them soon. Submission For Liberty has certainly sparked an interest in 4Arm for myself and I’d recommend this album is where you start if you’re interested in the band.

Band: 4ARM
Album: Submission for Liberty
Year: 2012
Genre: Thrash
Origin: Melbourne, Australia
Label: Rising Records

Track listing:
1. Sinn Macht Frei
2. While I Lay Awake
3. Raise a Fist
4. Submission for Liberty
5. The Oppressed
6. I Will Not Bow
7. Taken Down
8. My Fathers Eyes
9. The Warning
10. Blood of Martyrs