Recommended Aussie Tunes:Psycroptic | The new single "A Fragile Existence" | Listen

Album Reviews : Rage – Strings to a Web

By on January 31, 2010

Rage - Strings to a WebGerman metallers Rage bring forth their latest album “Strings to a Web”. There seems to be no sign of giving up as they celebrate their 25th anniversary. Rage return to form with “Strings to a web”, rekindling their thrash and melodic metal roots on this 14- track beast.

Their previous effort “Carved in Stone” carried some great songs, but it seemed to lack momentum and finesse in the sound department which subsequently lost my attention span early in the piece.

The band have previously experimented in their sound, delving into numerous ideas such as a heavily influenced orchestral album dubbed “Speak of the Dead”, whose elements have slightly been carried into “Strings to a Web”. The new album carries a vibrant array of diverse sounds capes that were was somewhat missing on the previous album. The songs are fast in their attack and carry that rich, full sound which maintains its momentum and consistency with its bombardment of amazing music, with an interlude that doesn’t entirely ruin the experience.

The groove injected introduction of ‘The Edge Of Darkness’ and  ‘Hunter and Prey’ set the mood together with Peter “Peavy” Wagner vocals that border on a hybrid of James Hetfield (Metallica) and Udo Dirkschneider (Accept) with an added radio friendly feel. His rhythmic bass-lines set the foundation for each song but also include numerous influences ranging from jazz to straight up hard rock, giving this album a more well structured and diverse approach than some of the band’s previous efforts.

Both powerful and catchy,”The Beggar’s Last Dime” shrieks with power. André Hilgers hard hitting drum intro mixes well with Victor Smolski’s groove laden riffs. . The title track “Strings to a Web, ” the only instrumental on the album,  starts off slow but gradually raises the bar and eclipses with an inspirational finish.

As the album progresses a somewhat southern/blues influence becomes more apparent, particularly leaning towards Pantera and Black Label Society territory. The songs “Saviour Of The Dead” and “Hellgirl” are the best examples, with their barrage of melodic and southern groovy riffs in conjunction with Peavy’s melodic and radio friendly vocals.

Despite the band’s age they are still full of surprises with their sound being so fresh and modern on a new album. Everything on “Strings to a Web” seems to fall in the right place and sounds fantastic. Long time producer Charlie Bauerfeind, had a helping hand in the creation of “Strings to a Web” and seems to have the Midas Touch when working with Rage.  This album is one that can be played at any given time and not be given a second thought.

This album is highly recommend to any long time Rage fan. It features a great combination of influences and elements that  stand out favorably from some of the band’s previous releases. “Strings to a Web” also comes in a digipak format which includes a bonus DVD featuring footage from Rage‘s performance at the 2009 Wacken Open Air festival with guest appearances from Hansi Kürsch (Blind Guardian) and Schmier (Destruction). 9/10

For fans of: Accept, Helloween, Iron Savior, Primal Fear

Band: Rage
Album: Strings to a Web
Year: 2010
Genre: Melodic Power Metal
Origin: Germany

1. The Edge Of Darkness
2. Hunter And Prey
3. Into The Light
4. The Beggar’s Last Dime <- Reviewer’s Choice
5. Empty Hollow
6. Strings To A Web
7. Fatal Grace
8. Connected
9. Empty Hollow (Reprise)
10. Saviour Of The Dead
11. Hellgirl
12. Purified
13. Through Ages
14. Tomorrow Never Comes


Mitch Booth is the owner, designer and grand overlord of Metal Obsession. In the few seconds of spare time he has outside of this site, he also hosts a metal radio show over on PBS 106.7fm in Melbourne (Australia) and organises shows under the name Untitled Touring. You should follow him on Twitter.