Recommended Aussie Tunes:Psycroptic | The new single "A Fragile Existence" | Listen

Album Reviews : Switchblade – Invictus Infinitium

By on June 22, 2009

switchbladeinvictuscover240If you weren’t already impressed by Switchblade’s debut release ‘The End of All Once Known’ and its classic melodeath song ‘Wings of Redemption’, then get yourself prepared to experiences the thrashingly melodic delights of ‘Invictus Infinitium’. After a four year recording absence on the scene and a number of line-up changes, the Sydney band’s second album has launched them to the upper echelon of Australian melodic music through catchy hooks and matured musicianship.

Kicking it off in style with ‘Revelation’, the modern death metal sound is immediately noticeable. Heavily distorted and chucky, the rhythm guitars back up the soaring leads and create immediate headbangability on the album. Vocalist Adam Helmrich delves deep within his chest cavity to unleash a number of guttural moments throughout the album – especially on the very death metal track ‘Lacerate’. However his more model screaming throughout the majority of the album is where his execution is at its best, and also more suitable to the Switchblade sound. The occasional well placed breakdown also mixes things up and shows a great range of influence from the band.

Invictus Infinitium will appeal to fans of both the American and Gothenburg styles of Melodic Death Metal, with Lamb of God fans no doubt set to take great pleasure in the track ‘Coil of the Serpent‘, which above all other tracks is reminiscent of the American band’s Killadelphia album. A noteworthy aspect of the album is the guest appearance by Nevermore’s Jeff Loomis, who contributes a delightful solo on the track ‘Reflective Curse’. But while the track doesn’t stand out as the best on the album for me, it is certainly an exciting experience for the band, and for the Australian metal scene to gauge such interest from one of the main players in worldwide heavy metal.

While even after a few weeks of listening to it I’m still struggling to coherently speak the album title, Switchblade’s latest release is a highlight in the local scene so far for 2009 and should rightfully be devoured by the Aussie metal population out there in no time. 8.5/10

Band: Switchblade
Album: Invictus Infinitium
Year: 2009
Genre: Modern Death Metal
Label: Self Released
Origin: Sydney, Australia

Track listing:
1. II
2. Revelation
3. Coil of the Serpent (Reviewer’s Choice)
4. The Cancer Benign
5. Solitary Existence
6. Reflective Curse
7. Impure Design
8. Lacerate
9. As The Sun Dies