Recommended Aussie Tunes:Psycroptic | The new single "A Fragile Existence" | Listen

Album Reviews : Cradle of Filth – Godspeed and the Devil's Thunder

By on March 4, 2009

Cradle of Filth release their eighth studio album onto the world, entitled ‘Godspeed and the Devil’s Thunder‘. The album is a concept based on Gilles de Rais, a once well known serial killer in the middle ages who once accompanied Joan of Arc in arms.

The albums story is narrated through the words of Doug Bradley, who plays the lead role of Gilles de Rais on the album. Bradley has worked with Cradle of Filth many times before in the past, with works including ‘Midian‘, ‘Nymphetamine‘ and ‘Thornography‘. The narration adds a unique charm with a distinct flavor to the new album…if I could only say the same for Danni Filth.

Danni Filth is quite well know in the extreme/black metal world as having one of the most unique voices in metal. His somewhat high pitch wailing mixed with deep and low narrative, clearly sets him aside from other singers. However, this talent is quickly losing its charm. Not only is it become quite a bore to listen too, but with him nearing the age of 36, his once soul shattering screams have become nothing more then a mediocre yell.

Production of the album has been stripped back to a much simpler format, drums and guitars are given a quick scrub down with the works of well known producer, Andy Sneap (Nevermore, Machine Head, Megadeth, Opeth). The album doesn’t seem to have that full on sound, with chunky riffs and meaty drums to carry the album along, which past Cradle of Filth albums like ‘Damnation and a Day‘, ‘Midian‘ and even ‘Thornography‘ did offer, and in a much wider spectrum as well.

The album isn’t completely shallow in its delivery, there are some very great moments which did capture my attention. One of which is a duet with Sarah Jezebel Deva, a long time accompaniment of the band. Her soulful voice adds a great contrast to that of Danni’s somewhat evil portrayal in the song, ‘The Death of Love‘.

Honey and Sulphur‘ add a unique twist with its orchestral and operatic ambiance, which in turn works quite well with Danni’s vocals, giving the song a much bigger depth of sound, yet is short lived as ‘Honey and Sulphur‘ seems to be the only song on the album which offers a “big” sound.

The 13th Caesar‘ is probably one of my most liked songs on the album, as it not only delivers in the instrumental department, but is also quite catchy as well.

Clearly the band have gone for a much more straight froward approach on the new album. There is nothing wrong with that, but there are moment when the album does seem a little flat in its delivery.

Having said that, you’ll be taken by surprise with the level of in depth story telling which is accompanied by Doug Bradley. It’s an enthralling tail which I’m sure will suck many listeners in, yet its doubtful the same can be said for the level of production and musicianship on ‘Godspeed and the Devil’s Thunder‘. Still, if you want a quick fix of Cradle of Filth you’ll appreciate this album, and what its worth.

Its no ‘Damnation and a Day‘, but its better then a kick in the teeth I suppose.  6.5/10

Band: Cradle of Filth
Album: Godspeed and the Devil’s Thunder
Year: 2008
Genre: Extreme Metal
Label: Roadrunner Records
Origin: London, United Kingdom


1. In Grandeur and Frankincense Devilment Stirs
2. Shat Out of Hell
3. The Death of Love
4. The 13th Caesar <-Reviewer’s choice
5. Tiffauges
6. Tragic Kingdom
7. Sweetest Maleficia
8. Honey and Sulphur
9. Midnight Shadows Crawl to Darken Counsel with Life
10. Darkness Incarnate
11. Ten Leagues Beneath Contempt
12. Godspeed on the Devil’s Thunder
13. Corpseflower


Anwar is the editor-in-chief of Metal When Anwar isn't busy promoting tours, interviewing bands and reviewing awesome music, he loves to collect metal vinyl and play video games. Follow Metal Obsession on Twitter and Facebook